Introduction:

 

The first thing I will be focusing on this week is developing a prototype model for my character based off of my character design research and concept art. The prototype will give me a simple model to reference in the future, they will display the structure of the character as well as the scale of different aspects of its body. The second area of focus will be texturing, I will practice using different types of texture maps in preparation for my final piece, I will consider my research on colour while doing this task. This task will help me by allowing me to create early versions of the textures I might use, it will also allow me to experiment with different texture map types.

 

3D Prototyping:

Introduction:

For this task I will be creating a simplistic untextured model of my character, the focus will be on quickly creating a model which represents the body structure of the character as well as the scale of different aspects of their body. My intention for this work is to end up with a simple model which I can easily alter if I see any particular issues with the design. I can also reference the prototype as I work on the final model.

Modelling:

This is a screenshot of the prototype model I created, it is based on the research and concept art from my previous posts.

Version 1:

Prototype Screenshot 1.png

Version 2:

Prototype Screenshot 2.png

This second version is altered based on my points from the evaluation, I made the higher limb thinner, slightly increased the head size and separated the torso into two separate pieces as the top half of the final character would rotate.

 

Evaluation:

Overall I am happy with my work, the prototype serves as a good reference for my future work. When creating the final model I will be closely following the structure and scale of this model. This task is important because it is very quick and easy to model and alter this prototype whereas it is much more difficult to perform large sweeping changes on a complex model. This task allows me to get a good idea of what my final model may look like in terms of proportions, it also allows me to alter the design before I commit to creating the final version, for example I may have a problem with the length of a certain limb type so this would be a good opportunity for me to alter the design. I am mostly happy with the design, however I must be careful with weight distribution, the model is relatively tall and hunched so I must be careful with the size of limbs. I may make the higher limb thinner so that it doesn’t look like it would topple the character.

 

 

Texture Map Practice:

Introduction:

For this task I will be practicing with texture maps, my aim is to create textures which fit the theme of the character, I will have to consider material and colour when creating these textures. In this task I will be practicing with Diffuse, Specular and Normal Maps.

Texturing:

The first texture I practiced creating was a basic metal which was dark and not a brushed metal which previous textures I have developed were, this allows for easier application to complex shapes. These textures were based off of this guide in particular which helped me develop more authentic metals by using layers and vector masks combined with specific brush types:

http://cgi.tutsplus.com/articles/how-to-hand-paint-convincing-metal-textures–cg-1765

Below are the diffuse and specular maps I created.

Diffuse:

Base Metal

Specular:

Base Metal Specularl

Unlit render in 3DS Max:

Metal Base Screenshot 2.jpg

Lit render in 3DS Max:

Metal Base Screenshot 1.jpg

I made a second set with a focus on scratches and details, I used the specular map to highlight the scratches and a bump map to indent them. I usede a free scratches brush which I downloaded from here:

http://www.brushlovers.com/photoshop-brush/metal-scratches.html

Below are the maps and the result in 3DS Max:

Diffuse:

Scratched Metal.jpg

Specular:

Scratched Metal Specular.jpg

Bump:

Scratched Metal Bump.jpg

Lit in 3DS Max:

Scratched Metal Screenshot.jpg

Unlit in 3DS Max:

Scratched Metal Screenshot 2.jpg

 

Evaluation:

This task was very beneficial to me as it allowed me to practice creating metal textures and using different types of texture maps. I am mostly happy with the work, the only problem I see is that for the second set of textures the scratches are very detailed which contrasts with the subtle base metal this may be less of a problem on an actual model but here it is quite noticeable. When texturing for my final model I may avoid downloading textures and instead try to replicate similar effects such as scratched paint or fading colour on the edges of some surfaces, by doing this I will gain more experience creating certain effects in Photoshop which I wouldn’t gain if I had just downloaded premade textures. This work is relevant as it helps me develop textures and helps me learn new techniques which can be applied to my final project and it helps me decide what techniques will and will not be used.

This is what I wrote in my action plan for this week:

“Create a basic version of the model to demonstrate scale and structure. Practice creating diffuse, specular and normal maps.”

I completed the modelling without issue, the model was made quickly and gives a useful, simple reference for when I model the final piece. With texturing I diverged slightly from my action plan, I still worked on diffuse and specular maps, but I elected to use bump maps instead of normal maps. This is because I found bump maps simpler to develop and I only had to apply these maps to very small areas of the final model, I was also unable to use the necessary plugin for creating normal maps at home so I thought it would make more sense to use a map type which I can create and work on both from home and at college.

 

References: 

Racer445. (2009). How to Hand Paint Convincing Metal Textures.Available: http://cgi.tutsplus.com/articles/how-to-hand-paint-convincing-metal-textures–cg-1765. Last accessed 02/06/16.

 

Wegraphics.net. Metal Scratches. Available: http://www.brushlovers.com/photoshop-brush/metal-scratches.html. Last accessed 02/06/16.

