The sound of voice

For this task I had to edit audio so it sounded like it was being emitted by a walkie talkie, the first step was cropping the audio to the length I desired, I chose to go with the first half of the audio. The next step was Equalisation, for this I removed the high and low end audio as this creates a poor audio quality similar to that of walkie talkies, I also added a slight spike to the higher end before it dropped as this caused a slight audio spike at the higher frequencies. Next I used Leveling as this could lower the quality of the audio further, bringing it closer to a walkie talkie’s. After this I added noise designed to sound like static that only appeared when the voice audio did, to do this I utilised the Envelope tool which allowed me to reduce the audio to nothing when there were no vocals (as seen in the lower track of the below picture.). Last I had to balance the audio so the noise was quieter than the vocals, this was¬†done using the Amplify tool, though I could also alter the gain of the audio.

Audacity Screenshot.png

Compared to the original audio which was clear and had no other sounds the walkie talkie audio I created was muffled, lower quality to reflect the low audio capabilities of the device. It also had white noise in the background to represent when the walkie talkie was activated by the user, which would cause a static sound.

On top of what I already knew I learned how to use the Equalisation, Leveling and Amplify tools and how to generate noise. When using the Equalisation tool I found that affecting certain ranges of the frequency could have useful effects such as being able to add peaking to the audio to further increase the effect of having low quality speakers.

I also further edited the audio to make it sound like it was being emitted from a PA Speaker by using the Reverb tool and changing room size to the lowest and increasing pre-delay.

