Westgate gardens trip

We took a trip as a class to Westgate gardens so we could conduct primary research regarding sounds and appearances of foliage. The day was quite bright which worked well for the photography and there was a small amount of wind which fortunately didn’t impact audio recordings too much and helped in gathering ambient sounds. Our research was split into three main tasks, drawing, photography and audio recording, I found photography the easiest, and I found audio recording to be the most difficult, this is because it is quite difficult to get the type of audio you want without some kind of outside audio interfering, such as a car driving by in the background or people talking. Interestingly I enjoyed drawing more than I thought I would and I felt my first drawing had a good sense of depth. I found the equipment easy to use and had no difficulties taking photos or recording sound. Unfortunately I don’t currently have access to the audio recordings, so I’m unable to upload them. The equipment I used was a camera, an audio recording device and my own drawing equipment.

I believe that the research tools, methods and skills used to develop ideas for creative production were effective, the tools used were all of suitable quality and I was able to do everything I wanted to when I used them. The methods were good as they resulted in me having a variety of resources available for future use. Below are the photos and drawings from the trip.

My favourite drawing from the trip was this first one, I felt the leaves gave a good sense of depth to the plant, I paid a lot of attention to the form of the plant which I believe lends accuracy to my drawing.

IMG_0107 IMG_0108 IMG_0109 IMG_0110 IMG_0112

 

This photo is the one I am most proud of, I believe the bright colours, depth of field and the way it’s centred in the image make it visually appealing. I also liked the third photo of the orange flower for similar reasons, though because it doesn’t face the camera I find it less appealing than the first photo.

IMG_1077 IMG_1078 IMG_1079 IMG_1080 IMG_1081 IMG_1082 IMG_1083 IMG_1084 IMG_1085 IMG_1086 IMG_1087 IMG_1088 IMG_1089 IMG_1092

The photos above of the side of the trees and of the grass were intended to be used for textures, though the tree image is far too close to the tree to be used as a texture. Similarly the grass image may not work well in most cases, though for small patches of grass it may work better.

