Psychology of 3D Models

This was a task about how lighting in a scene can create atmosphere and mood, in this scene I made hallways by extruding a box, repeatedly in order to create halls and doorways. I also added doors at the end of hallways which were blocked at the end.

Lowlight Hallway

I used several soft lights that create an uneasy atmosphere and is used to much greater effect in horror games such as PT.

Lowlight Hallway 2

To create the desired effect I changed the intensity, colour and attenuation of the lights, this allowed for darker areas where the lights weren’t able to reach completely.

Lowlight Hallway 3

Overall I was happy with the end result as I feel the lighting adds an interesting mood to the scene that would not exist without it. The soft lights and darker areas add a slight sense of mystery without making the area seem threatening.

