Box Paper Craft

In this task I conducted Primary Research about box shapes, by making nets with tabs. This task helped me find out more about 3D shapes, texturing and how 3D shapes come together. This was related to my 3D modelling as it is an accurate physical representation of how textures on models work, each side of the cube net is similar to each side of a cube made in 3DS Max and drawing each side of the cube net is similar to texturing each side of a 3D model of a cube.

To research this I created a cube net; a shape that when drawn onto a piece of paper and cut out can be folded to create a cube. The first step is drawing the design, to do this I drew four squares of equal size in a straight line, attached to each other by one side, the I drew another square attached either side of the second square in. I then drew tabs on the sides of some of the squares (shown in the picture below), these would be used to attach the faces of the cube together.

Next came drawing onto the cube net, this was very similar to texturing as it required a sense of how the final product would come together and an understanding of where the sides met. After this the whole design was cut out and the connecting lines were folded. I then used glue on the tabs to attach them to the appropriate faces and the cube was complete.

This task was useful in understanding how a texture designed in 2D would look on a 3D shape, below are some pictures, including a cube net and the result of my work, a cube made to look like a small filing cabinet. I was happy with the result of this task, but if I did it again I would choose to create something more interesting or colourful as each side of the filing cabinet is grey with only a small amount of detail. I believe this task was useful as it gave insight into how textures function in regards to 3D models.

 

IMG_0084

IMG_0085

IMG_0086

Cube Development

Source: http://www.dtonline.org/vle/mod/page/view.php?id=211&inpopup=1

